Revisions

How many times do we need to revise our books before it gets published?  That is a question no one can really answer.  When I first wrote Gift of Life, I put it away for about a month or so then re-read it, making note to save the file as GOL2.  That’s what we all do right?  I mean naming our files.  I made some changes to the story itself, and put it away again.  The next time I opened it, I read some things and thought, “Ew.  What was I thinking?”  And made more changes.  Throughout all of this, I wasn’t keeping a timeline of what was going on in my story, yet the revisions continued.  It took a while to straighten my timeline out, and almost two years later, thinking I was ready to go on and have someone edit for me, I sat down and read it again.  After eighteen (Yes that many) revisions, I was still not 100 percent happy with it, but it was at least ready for an editor to take a look at it.

Five months and two more revisions, it was ready.

Yay!  I thought.  I was just published in March, and I bet if I sat down and read it again, I would find more things I don’t like about it.

So, there is not a real answer to this question.  So my advice is, do not rush to publish.  Take at least a year on your manuscript (If it is a full length novel anyway) and make sure you don’t hate what you’ve written after someone has downloaded it.  Then it is too late.

I read my first in my Baby Farm Series yesterday and even after all this time, I found things that my previous editor missed.  Ugh!

Well, until next week,

Kayresia

Leave a comment

Filed under Latest Work

Leave a Reply

